Fashion |KENZO x H&M Frency – I Lined Up And Here’s What Happened

Ever since Kenzo was announced as the latest collebrator with H&M after last year’s popular Balmain crossover collection, the anticipation had been building up and up. Whether or not you are a fan of the fashion brand, you would have inevitably heard of it by now with the news practically taking over the internet. The very limited crossover collection usually is sold out in hours, with dedicated fans lining up all night to get their hands on the pieces.

 

Having sadly missed out on last year’s collection due to work committments (who needs those?), I made it my mission this time around to buy the Kenzo collab first handed. I figured that buying second hand from eBay is less than ideal for my wallet since you need to pay for a hefty premium for not having to line up early outside the stores. Just take a look on eBay for last year’s Balmain for H&M line and you will find that sellers are asking for at least double the original retail price.

 

No, thank you.

 

So the only way to secure (well there is no guarantee, really) some Kenzo this year is to not give in to my need of beauty sleep; and to get my ass to a store before the dawn of day….

 

So here’s what happened

 

  • 4:10 am – time to get up! Nooooo I dread getting up in the cold Melbournean spring time…
  • 4:20 am – made it to the kitchen for some much needed coffee and fruit
  • 4:50 am – picked up by Uber and I am officially on my way for some Kenzo
  • 4:55 am -my overthinking-ness is happening. Should I have gorton up earlier? Shit it’s cold. Is it going to rain? Oh crap I left my umbrella behind!
  • 5:15 am – finally arrived outside the Melbourne store. Yes it’s so dark still. Thank goodness only around 40 people have lined up so far!
  • 5:20 am – the concrete floor really is cold…… we fashion peasants…
  • 5:30 am – Youtube is my saviour!
  • 6:00 am – the first light of Melbourne along with a few more people have decided to turned up for Kenzo
  • 7:00 am – the moment of the wrist band have arrived. Group 3 isn’t too bad right? I need to pee
  • 7:46 am – currently refuelling at Starbucks
  • 9:00 am – I am back for more line ups
  • 9:25 am – our group of 14 are now brought to the mens section. The anticipation is killing us. All fidgeting, eager to get our hands on the clothes!
  • 9:30 am- RUN AND GRAB (only allowed 5 pieces anyway). Only allowed one piece per style. Grrrrrrrr. Also you are not allowed to get b
    ack to the Kenzo area once you go out to the change rooms.
  • 9:34 am – oh god I can’t decide!
  • 9:40 am – it’s final! With the staff announcing the end of the session. I manager to grab 5 pieces. Oh god please make them fit…
  • 9:50 am – they all fit perfectly. A sigh of relief finally.
  • 10:00 am – paid and left. It’s official, the tiredness have finally caught up with me in a big way. My eyes lids have never been more heavy. This is the same feeling you get as soon as you walked out form the final exam. An enormous weight have lifted and I can finally rest…… in KENZO of course.

 

IMG_8387.JPG
Mission accompolished!

With the purchase finalised, my clothes put into the gigantic shopping bag; my quest for Kenzo for H&M have officially ended and I am once again feeling content. It was exciting and fun as shopping should be; I just didn’t appreciate the crazy hours and long wait. Having said that, I would do it again in a heart beat though. These collaborations are such great ideas for the most of us to get our hands on some higher brands for the first time, which otherwise would have been inaccessible with the hefty price tag (think $99.9 vs $300 for a sweat shirt). I really am tired and desperately need some shut eye; but for now I, along with the some others who bothered to line up early have indeed earned the bragging right of owning a piece of the collection.

 

 

Which brand do you think should be next year’s collaborator? Leave your comments down below! My top three predictions (wish list) are: 1. Givenchy 2. Saint Laurent 3. Fendi

 

Want to see more of me? Get social with me!

Sign up to our mailing list

Facebook: Chiky Jr

Instagram: fashion_collectionneur

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

